A portfolio / blog site blasting out of a slightly crazy, possibly a bit ADD, but definitely unique mind.

Not many people would have done that.

I wanna share a story that happened to me recently. It set my mind reeling, and I started to think about this event for some time after. I was perplexed, disgusted, and saddened. Here’s what happened:

My kids and I were walking back home from my daughter’s school, chatting happily about the events of our day. What my daughter had done at school that day and what my son and I had done all day while she was gone, the usual topics. On our trek, we walk passed a hospital. We started hearing yelling, not the angry kind, but the “Hey! Wait for me!” kind.

I notice this older lady, in a wheelchair. Her knee is in a big brace. It’s freezing and raining outside, she has no coat on, her hair is plastered to her face. She’s wheeling herself as fast as she can, hollering at this handicapped transit van as the van starts pulling away from the curb. The driver of the van couldn’t hear her over the rain or see her cause visibility was horrid. So, my kids and I started waving our arms and jumping to get the van to pull over. The driver saw us and stopped, we explained the lady was chasing the van. The driver leaves to pull back around the block and pick up this lady.  We go up to her, and she is almost in tears. She smiles at my kids and looks at me and says,” That was very kind of you. Not many people would have done that. Thanks.” I was momentarily speechless. Not many people would have done that. I told her it wasn’t any problem, gave her smile. And went on home.

Not many people would have done that.

Really?

Who wouldn’t try to help a lady in wheelchair?

Sitting in my apartment later, I can’t stop thinking about that lady. My brain, firing on all cylinders, starts analyzing it.

I replayed the event over and over in my head, seeing the other people, studying them. Not one other person even did more than glance in her direction. Not one person cared that this poor lady was in need of some help. Not one.

They pretended like she wasn’t there, wasn’t hollering down the street. Like she wasn’t struggling to catch a moving vehicle in a wheelchair.

I try to be a considerate person, I do try. And I try to teach my children to be as well. I know there are times when I am busy and don’t spare a glance for others around me. I’m not perfect, not even close. But this scares me. What does it mean, for us as a society, a community, a people, when we are so focused on ourselves that we miss or ignore the events unfolding around us? When we stop caring about the other people around us?

Since when did kindness go out of fashion? Why is it a rarity for people to help each other? What happened to the concept of the golden rule?

Well, the golden rule still kicks it in my house.

Hoping I’m not alone,

Mythandra

2 responses

  1. Alycia Cassens

    this story reminded me of your post about people not helping people….so sad that we have become so numb to eachothers feelings http://news.yahoo.com/s/yblog_thelookout/20101117/sc_yblog_thelookout/if-the-science-guy-passes-out-and-nobody-tweets-it-did-it-happen

    November 17, 2010 at 5:19 pm

  2. It is especially sad when it is someone as cool as Bill Nye ‘The Science Guy’! He is awesome!

    November 18, 2010 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

